Undressing with Your Eyes

Sketching in a lot of ways is like having sex.  There is the initial attraction, the hunt, the foreplay and the climatic end.  Sounds unrelated, really they are.  Let me begin to explain in terms how I love what I do and compare it to the next thing I love to do. 

First as with sex there has to be an attraction.  What is pulling you toward your object or objects?  For me, it is lines.  I am drawn to curves and clean lines.  Yes, I know there are curves to anything, but that is not my point.  Following the curve of the line for example the silhouette of a women’s back denotes beauty, strength, vulnerability, soft, sensual and sexy.  Seeing such lines, allows you to see detail.  It takes your eyes away from what you expect to see to something that you had not noticed before. Its like touching someone and feeling what is underneath except in this case…without hands.  The classics books of romance use the phrase.  “His smoldering eyes regarded me with…”  Such a gaze is intense and demanding.  The eyes can strip away clothes and masks and see straight into the soul.  It always begins with looking past the obvious to see the story that the lines tell you.  The foreplay begins when I place the pencil to the paper.  I am timid at first unsure where to start, my strokes are light and soft marking out the layout of my design.  As I progress I get bolder, my strokes become stronger and demanding.  I begin to  explore, retrace, experiment with my thoughts all the while paying close attention to shades, curves, position.  My object is never out of my sight, I am connected to it.  As my work progresses, I become more confident and exhilarated on what is transpiring on the page.  I see the promise and the temptation to hurry and complete the sketch before it is truly done.  But like sex you slow down, you hold yourself back.  You don’t want an early arrival then the product will never be as good.  A lot of times, I stop sketching and review what I have accomplished.  Is the angle right?  How is the shading? What can I do better?  Being self taught, makes me work harder to not only prove to myself that I can do this, but to gain more confidence and feed my inner artist the promise that it is possible to become great.  I pick up my pencil, and rebuild and adjust as I go along.  When apply the details it is almost there.  My urge to stop and shout to the world of another piece is great.  I hold back touching here and there with my pencil until I am completely satisfied.  The climax is the finish product.  Another piece of me I transferred to the page.  I am spent creatively.  But I am satisfied.  For now.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mae Clair
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 00:41:22

    Wonderful post, wonderful comparison. I felt the first tentative strokes, the building, exhilaration and climatic finish. You may be an artist, but you’re good with words too 🙂

    Reply

  2. amadiex
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 01:24:31

    Wow Mae coming from you that is a real compliment!!!

    Reply

  3. Kitt Crescendo
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 03:13:19

    You know, we who write for our art feel the same way you did when you said “another piece of me transferred to the page” and “I am spent creatively”. Mae is right. You DO have a way with words.

    Reply

  4. amadiex
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 20:12:28

    Thanks Kitt you are always supportive no matter what! You know I write to shut down the chatter in my head so I can sketch better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

