Battle Mark

Last night I couldn’t sleep.  The urge to sketch something was to strong.  I have been restless the last couple of days mostly from being sick.  I had called out of work for two days which gave me time to nurse myself back into life.  The last couple of days I have been brainstorming about different projects and how to accomplish them.  I knew I had to “warm up” my skills to be at my best.  I have not been consistent with being disciplined enough of setting time to work on improvement.  It will take a few tries at quick sketches to get back what I have lost.  Like with anything you will fall down get some bumps and bruises, but as I tell my daughter those are battle marks and to get back up and do it again.  I remember asking me why I called them battle marks and I told her that they are signs of trying and of persistence.  Nothing comes easy, you must practice and sometimes that brings battle marks that demonstrates the toughness of your spirit.  I am not sure if she fully understood what I was trying to say or maybe she thought I had lost my mind, but she did understand to get back up and try again.  So as I sat there looking at the blank piece of paper decided what type of mother will I chose to be, one that forgoes the trial of growing, or do I show her my battle mark.  So I began to draw.  I had no idea that time got away from me, I was weightless, lost and freed and then I looked up it was 1 am. How wonderful!  My battle mark, my journey….

  Granted I was on a few meds, but its a start to dust of the cob webs.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theinnerwildkat
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 19:36:31

    I’m so glad you are rediscovering your passion. I like this drawing… There’s something sadly sweet and ethereal about her face.

    Reply

  2. amadiex
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 19:40:33

    It is definately not my best, but it was fun just to sketch. Not to mention all the cold meds I was on!!:):)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

