Fallen

ImageMy fascination with fairies and the fantasy world began early in life.  I was always drawn to the magical world because it was something I could get lost in.  There was that mystic atmosphere that anything was possible.  It was a break from the world I was living it.  It provided an escape, from pain, from the lack of confidence and rejection.  Through art I could be anything, I could create anything.  To me that was a power that no one could take from me.  It gave me something when someone said I did a good piece.  I remember the first piece I showed to a friend.  I believe I was in elementary school and I remember the feeling when I saw their look of appreciation.  It gave me a sense of purpose.  I liked being valued.  Since then I remember looking at things differently, sketching with my eyes when I had no paper or pen, I would read fantasy novels and wondered what I could create depicting the scenes or how I would make the characters look like.  It was my lifeline.  It made me feel good.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caseykaye
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 22:28:21

    I completely agree with, and understand where you are coming from. I think fantasy art allows the creator to utilize more of their imagination, and grow more because of it. You are such a fantastic artist, I am so happy you are getting back into your art!

    Reply

  2. Kitt Crescendo
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 02:38:42

    Sometimes escape from reality is just what the doctor ordered. I do it through the stories I create. You do it through your art. Thank you for sharing your art with us!

    Reply

  3. Mae Clair
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 17:41:03

    This is just beautiful! I think what’s really intriguing about mythical/mystical artwork is you can really let your imagination soar. It’s sort of like world-building to the writer of a fantasy novel. You get to set your own rules and vision.

    And I completely agree with what you said regarding the power of creation. I get that same rush from writing when I create a character and the stage for them to play on. There is something empowering about bringing something new to life, whether it be a story or a sketch.

    Love your stuff!

    Reply

  4. amadiex
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 03:19:35

    Thanks guys! There is something that we all share, the power of creating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

