A Walk with Kitt

 

f05c58975bec5beb041aef8a1d54d740

Recently I read a blog that talked about friendship, Girlfriends Love Giveaways,  and got to thinking about my oldest and dearest friend.  Kitt Crescendo.  

It is always interesting on the timing of things and meeting Kitt was no different.  During that time, I was an  awkward looking kid that was trying to find herself in a world of nasty cliques and peer pressure.  I often was bullied to the point that walking to school gave me such anxiety that I often prayed that I would go unnoticed and to me that was a good day.  The morning I met Kitt, I was sitting in a small room with my yonger brother who was annoying Kitt, who sat at another table.  In fear I told him to stop bugging her because I could ill afford another bully and not to mention Kitt was a few grades a head of me and I was just a kid.  I tried to thrawt my brother’s annoying antics and realizing that he wasn’t going to listen, I quickly said a soft apology to Kitt and prayed for someone to make me invisible.  I remember Kitt looking at me and smiled telling me not to worry about it and gave my brother one of those don’t-test-me-or-I-am-going- to-knock-you-flat look.  I remember the air self confidence that was present and wanted so much to have something like that!  What came next was that Kitt didn’t go off on her own, she actually started to talk with me and walked with me to school.  Now, to most of you that read this your like big deal, but the point is no one talked to me let alone someone in a higher grade. 

498459ba02a455684a580858e55b4f62

That walk turned to many walks and soon I started to open up and let someone close in.  It was the beginning of a lasting friendship that has been a lifeline through so many pittfalls.  Through her I discovered talents, she was one of the first people I let in to see my sketches.  She stood up for me when the bullies came around.  She made grade school tolerable.  As the years went on, highschool, and college our friendship grew and matured.  I had friends come for a season and had great times and experiances, but Kitt has been the one friend that has truly made herself a permenant fixture in my life.  Through my losses she has been my net where her words bounce me back, through my wins she is cheering me on, when I doing something stupid (depending on what it is) she is right there.  She is the girl that would hold your hair while your paying homage to the proceilin god laughing at you!  I wouldn’t have it any other way!  She is the sister I have chosen and one of the best descisions I made. My daughters know her as auntie Kitt.    I only hope that my girls will find someone like that to share their life adventures.  Kitt,  I want to say a special thank you for being you.  For those of you who do know her, know you have found a rare gem in this world. 

4d8fc9e150b06285a02ce22e4668b058

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kitt Crescendo
    May 04, 2013 @ 15:08:06

    Aww. You just got me all teary eyed. You know you are a sister of my heart…as much a sister to me as my biological one. All the strength and talent you possess has always been there. I’m just glad you let me in close enough to see it. You know you’ve been there for me as much as I ever have been for you. Back in those days I needed you with me as much as you needed me. It was great to hang out with someone who didn’t want anything from me but friendship. I like to think God gifted us to each other.

    Reply

  2. amadiex
    May 04, 2013 @ 15:22:56

    What a gift!!! one that I cherish! Besides who else can get me to loosen up!!!

    Reply

  3. patriciasands
    May 05, 2013 @ 00:41:19

    You two friends are the real deal! How lovely that you have put this up for others to see! I have a special friendship like yours in my life too and am thankful for it every day. Lucky us!

    Reply

  4. amadiex
    May 05, 2013 @ 14:40:10

    I absolutely agree Patricia!! I was always told that if you find just one friend that sticks with you, you are extremely lucky.

    Reply

  5. Mae Clair
    May 06, 2013 @ 23:20:54

    What a beautiful post and a beautiful story. You and Kitt have an amazing friendship, the quality and length of which few people get to experience. What a blessing!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: That Awkward Moment When… | theinnerwildkat

Leave a Reply

